top of page

Our History

Limerick Art Society is one of the oldest societies in the country, having been established by the late Right Reverend Dr. Robert Wyse Jackson in 1942

In 1951 the Limerick Art Society was established more formally by devotees such as Ms. Dolly Stewart, Frank Colbert, Stan Downing and Phil Andrews. Dr Wyse Jackson continued as President of the Society until 1970, followed by Dr. Edward Walsh, former President of UL and Freeman of Limerick, until 1983 and then by Dr. Thomas Ryan, past President of the Royal Hibernian Academy, the prominent and renowned Limerick born artist and Freeman of Limerick, until 2021.

The current President is Barbara Hartigan, a very well known and distinguished painter, whose work is widely represented nationally and internationally.

President Mary Robinson performed the Opening Ceremony of the Society’s “Golden Jubilee Exhibition” in the Limerick City Gallery of Art in 1992. In 2012 in his first formal event in Limerick as President of Ireland, President Michael D. Higgins opened its “70th Anniversary Exhibition” in the Hunt Museum

LAS Committee

Barbara Hartigan President

Eamonn McQuade Chair 

Seamus Casey  

Mary Dilleen-McCarthy 

Bridget Henning  

Dorothy Hogan 

Marie McConn 

Ethel Murphy 

Ann O'Carroll 

Emmett Ormston 

Patricia Phumpiu 

Margaret Ray

The Limerick Art Society, Silver Medal has been awarded to Tom Greaney, painter, teacher and mentor; Gerde Hughes, long time stalwart of the Society, Barbara Hartigan, also a huge contributor to the Society and to painting in Limerick,  and Denis Leonard, founder member of Limerick Civic Trust, for their outstanding contributions to the arts in Limerick.

The Society’s Bronze Medal has been awarded to selected painting students of the Limerick School of Art and Design from time-to-time.

Roger McCarthy who received the LAS Silver Medal with LAS Chair Eamonn McQuade and President Barbara Hartigan

Present and Past Honorary Life Members

Barbara Hartigan

Roger McCarthy

Bernie O' Donnell

Margaret Ray

The Late:

Brenda Andrews
Arthur Grayson
Tom Greaney
Geraldine Healy-Hutchinson
John Mackenzie

Christie Mannix
Frank O'Meara

Dr. Thomas Ryan, PP RHA

bottom of page